The 2007 School of Chemistry and Biochemistry Graduate Symposium included five excellent presentations by senior graduate students who were finalists for the Graduate Student Awards. A committee of faculty and staff served as judges of the presentations. This year, the awards were funded by a generous donation from Pfizer Global R&D.

Our congratulations go to:

First Place ($1000):
Heather Bean (Hud group)

Second Place ($450 each) (tie):
Ronnie Phillips (Bunz group)
Ashley Ringer (Sherrill group)
Neetu Singh (Lyon Group)

Runner-up ($100):
Leonard Nyadong (Fernandez group)

In addition, Outstanding Performance as a Teaching Assistant Awards ($100 + beaker-mug + candy!) were presented to:

Anthony Baldridge
Bassem Hallac
Karen Malloy
Aubrey Smith
Jennifer Steeb

Poster awards ($50 each) will be presented to:

Neetu Singh (Graduate Student - Lyon group)
Yue Liang (Undergraduate Student - Bommarius group)

... and the reception door prize (a GT sweatshirt) goes to Sai Gogineni

Finally, thanks to Graduate Student Forum representatives Chip Humphries, Becky Shaner, J.P. Aragon, Lisa Linhardt, Kathy Woody, and Anthony Baldridge for all of their assistance with the symposium, reception and homecoming tailgate event; and to Cam Tyson and Denisha Thomas for everything they do in relation to the graduate program.